Skip to content ↓

Pastoral Organisation


The pastoral care offered to our students at Carshalton Boys Sports College is designed to support them in becoming independent, enquiring and creative young people, enabling them to take PRIDE in themselves, their work and their school. We aim to provide a personalised learning experience for our young people that responds to each person's needs, talents and interests.

Our experienced and talented pastoral teams play a central role in supporting every student's social and academic development.

​Students have a tutor and tutor group who they see every day and who form their immediate family in school. Each year group has a Learning Coordinator and Pastoral Support Officer whose role is to coordinate the activities of the group, support the tutor team and take responsibility for the welfare of group members.

There are lots of opportunities for students to gain leadership experience and take part in the school's decision-making processes. We have an active School Council (CBSC Power) with representatives from each year group. A rich and diverse curriculum offer and a wide range of extra-curricular activities hopefully ensures that everyone can find something in which to excel.

If you have any concerns about your child's experience of school, please contact the relevant Learning Coordinator or Pastoral Support Officer who will support you.

Lower School - Years 7 & 8

 Deputy Principal Paul Avery
 Assistant Principal Emma Morris
 Learning Coordinator Year 7  Reece Szreider
 Learning Coordinator Year 8  Shanon McGrath
 Pastoral Support Officer, Year 7  Natalie Hodge
 Pastoral Support Officer, Year 8 Natalie Howard

Upper School - Years 9 & 10

 Deputy Principal  Paul Avery
 Learning Coordinator Year 9 Brendan Earley
 Learning Coordinator Year 10  Jess Hendle
 Pastoral Support Officer, Year 9  Anderson Esnard
 Pastoral Support Officer, Year 10 Sarah Tyson

Senior School - Years 11, 12 & 13

 Vice Principal  Jenny Gaylor
 Assistant Principal, Head of 6th Form  Paula Cowell
 Learning Coordinator Year 11  Ros Walker
 Learning Coordinator Year 12  Freddie Hale
 Learning Coordinator Year 13  Annie White
 Pastoral Support Officer, Year 11 Sarah Tyson
 Pastoral Support Officer Safeguarding, Year 12 & 13  Sue Barker